By Idaho law, death certificates have restricted access for 50 years from the date of death. Death certificates greater than 50 years old may be obtained by anyone upon payment of the proper fee. Death certificates less than 50 years old may only be obtained by family members or their legal representatives. When ordering a death certificate, you must state your relationship to the decedent or your reason for needing the record. Proof of relationship may be required.
For an Idaho Death Certificate, please print and complete the appropriate form, and send a money order or check, plus a copy of your picture identification to the name and address below. You can also fax your request with your request (with a credit card number) for an extra charge
Idaho Bureau of Health Policy and Vital Statistics