By Alaska law, death certificates have restricted access for 50 years from the date of death. Death certificates greater than 50 years old may be obtained by anyone upon payment of the proper fee. Death certificates less than 50 years old may be obtained by family members or their legal representatives. When ordering a death certificate, you must state your relationship to the decedent or your reason for needing the record.
For an Alaska Death Certificate, please print and complete the appropriate form and send a money order or cashier's check (personal checks not accepted) to the following name and address: Allow four to six weeks for delivery.
For records prior to 1910, please contact the Anchorage Genealogical Society.